Divine Idea

Imitation is Suicide. Insist on yourself; never imitate. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Write down in which areas of your life you have to overcome these suicidal tendencies of imitation, and how you can transform them into a newborn you – one that doesn’t hide its uniqueness, but thrives on it. There is a “divine idea which each of us represents” – which is yours? (Author: Fabian Kruse)

This particular quote that imitation is suicide and to never imitate is rather harsh and I am not sure that I agree with it in that context.  I have never been one to follow trends or go for the in-crowd type things.  Not that some of these things aren’t good, but I like to be different.  I like to stand out.

Strangely enough, I believe that imitation can be a form of flattery.  It means that what you did was so awesome that others thought it was a great idea as well and decided to copy you.  However, I believe others shouldn’t steal creations or use them without giving proper credit to who they got it from.

I also believe that sometimes imitation can inspire you to greatness.  Many times in life you may see or hear something and think “why didn’t I think of that?”  I have found inspiration from different writers, singers, and teachers.  What is different is that I may take a portion of their idea and add my spin to it.  To make it fit my life and the purpose that I will use it for.  I believe by placing my personal touch to it  makes it unique.