Investing in the Future

Take a moment, step back from your concerns, and focus on one thing: You have one life to achieve everything you’ve ever wanted. Sounds simple, but when you really focus on it, let it seep into your consciousness, you realize you only have about 100 years to get every single thing you’ve ever wanted to do. No second chances. This is your only shot. Suddenly, this means you should have started yesterday. No more waiting for permission or resources to start. Today is the day you make the rest of your life happen. Write down one thing you’ve always wanted to do and how you will achieve that goal. Don’t be afraid to be very specific in how you’ll achieve it: once you start achieving, your goals will get bigger and your capability to meet them will grow. (Author: Colin Wright)

I have always wanted to work with young girls/young ladies and help them understand their worth, how to love themselves, and hone their critical thinking skills.  I see a need for this in the urban areas in particular, but I would not just focus on one geographical area. I feel that these things should be addressed if we are going to produce productive, caring, trustworthy, responsible, and respectful citizens.

I see that there are many initiatives for this lately.  I believe that something has been damaged (in the family life) or simply never taught to many young women and I am appalled by some of the things that I see teenaged girls doing these days.  They are a part of this group that believes that they are entitled and that they should not have to wait for things.  I would like to work on that as well.  There seems to be a void where compassion is concerned.

In a small way I have begun this work because I am an educator.  There have been times when I have had conversations with some of  young girls and I see that they have not been taught any better.  Some of the behavior is acceptable because it is what their parents have done.  It’s a cycle that has to be studied and corrected before it is too late.